All reviews

By Marcin K. on 23 Sept. 2016 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : MegaDrive / Genesis 6-Button Controller

Like it more than original controllers

I was never a big fan of classic, 3-button controllers of Sega Mega Drive, but fortunately, in later years there were released 6-button controllers, and after them some third-party products. Just as this one from Hyperkin.

Both d-pad and buttons are nice in touch and responsive. Shape, size and material are also well adjusted and you can play comfortable even in longer periods of time. Also plugin looks very solid and I never had any issues with it. I have tested the controller on both Mega Drive Model 1 and Model 2, and in both cases it's working really nice. And not only on original console - I had an opportunity to test it on one of the clones (from Bulgaria) and it was working here also without any issues. It also works good on Retrode's adapter. Hyperkin's controller is making this characteristic "rattle" noise during shaking, but despite that fact, I don't see there any trace of bad materials or poorly made design. I would highly recommend it to any fan of Mega Drive, who is looking for good and comfortable controller.

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 23 Sept. 2016 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Retrode 2

Interesting mix of dumpers and adapters, but has some lacks

Retrode is probably the best attempt to make dumper in manner of "official and commercial" product. First of all, it looks far more presentable than many dumpers sold "here and there", which are generally a piece of mainboard with slot and other components. Black shell with cover for cartridge slots looks really nice. Second thing is, that it's very simple in use - while some dumpers require to install additional software (which is sometimes a bit problematic to configure), Retrode is very straightforward - it's detected as data storage, which is really convinient. Just put in cartridge (working fine with cartridges from any region), plug device to your PC and you have direct access to file with ROM. And if you're wondering if Retrode can deal with merged Sonic 3 + Sonic & Knuckles cartridges, I have good news for you - yes, you can easily dump rom from Sonic 3 & Knuckles as well.

Dumpers have one major lack though - Retrode is not working with compilations (such as Sonic Compilation for Mega Drive). It's detecting only "selector" (rom which is the "main menu" where you're choosing the game), which is useless without games data. This issue occurs also in case of additional plugins (such as GBx plugin).

Adaptors for Mega Drive/SNES controllers are also working good. Any controller plugged into one of the sockets is detected as standard USB game controller, which is simple and functional solution. Controllers are cooperating really nice with emulators. But keep in mind, that adapters are not perfect, I've personaly experienced, that some of my games (which are working with any USB controller) weren't detecting controllers plugged via Retrode.

Unfortunately, update of firmware is a bit troublesome, since it requires additional software and creating some "virtual device" in your system to make it works properly. You can eventually learn how to do it, but it's definitelly harder than using standard functions of Retrode. Maybe it's not especially important for standard features of retrode, but you'll definitelly need it for plugins.

In my opinion Retrode is very good option for someone who would like to start dumping roms from Mega Drive and/or SNES cartridges, but don't have experience with dumping and need something simple for the beginning. It's not the cheapest device, but due to the fact that you have two dumpers for completely different cartridges it's very good offer (not to mention about adapters for controllers). I would highly recommend this device especially if you're going to use both dumpers or at least one dumper + one of the adapters. In both cases you're receiving well made and presentable device.

Report abuse
By Matthew H. on 14 Sept. 2016 :
(/5) 
Product rated : Retrode 2

Works Beautifully

Took it out of the box and gave it a test run as soon as I got it -- everything works with no problems whatsoever. Now I can copy saved games before I replace a cartridge's battery, then load them back on afterwards!

Report abuse
By Zhu Q. on 02 June 2016 :
(2/5) 
Product rated : Pyra Preorder (Standard Edition, 4GB RAM)

price

the price is 529EUR or 330EUR?

Report abuse

review reply  The final price for the unit is 529 EUR, as mentioned in the description.
330 EUR is just the downpayment. review reply

Shop owner reply on 06 July 2016
By Dwight M. on 18 Apr. 2016 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Retrode2 N64 Plugin (without joypad connectors)

Remember the voltage switch

Cartridge reading works fine, but remember to switch the internal voltage switch inside the Retrode from 5v to 3.3v when using this adapter. (Mine didn't come with instructions and I couldn't get proper cart reads until looking up this issue.)

Report abuse
By Andrew C. on 01 Feb. 2016 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora LCD Cable

Top Quality! Great!

This is the first place I come to when I'm looking for a top quality replacement LCD cable.

Report abuse
By Clay C. on 26 Jan. 2016 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode2 N64 Plugin (without joypad connectors)

Very impressed

I love it. the n64 plug-in works flawlessly with the retrode 2 and I received my order in a timely manner. On a side note it was cool to get newspaper from another country as the packing material :)

Report abuse
By Martell N. on 11 Jan. 2016 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode 2

This is a great investment for my retro collection!!!!

i brought this awesome device from Germany this website and this is worth going into retro collection

Report abuse
By Gerald F. on 30 Dec. 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Donation for the Pyra Project

Donation for Pyra Project.

Most glad to help with ther Pyra as it will be a welcome computer. Thanks to all involved, Gerald

Report abuse
By Cole V. on 19 Nov. 2015 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Rebirth

Been loving this so far!

Needs a more sturdy hinge mine sorta flaps unless I hold it which is disappointing.
I will think about buying the Pyra when the price goes down other then that this runs emulators GREAT!

Report abuse
By Fabrizio R. on 02 Oct. 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Donation for the Pyra Project

Go Go Pyra!

Go Pyra go!

Report abuse
By Justin C. on 12 Sept. 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Donation for the Pyra Project

Excited!

I'm getting excited for the release of the Pyra! I've been following the project since somtime earlier this year and it sounds like everything is coming together nicely! Although it would be nice to see it released at the end of this year, it's more likely that it will come out next Spring or Summer! Show your support by donating at least ten euros to help move the project along and show that there is a demand for devices like the Pyra! Thank you for taking the time to read this review and have a good day!

Report abuse
By James D. on 12 Sept. 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode 2

Works flawlessly

I don't know what to say. It just works! No trouble at all.

Report abuse
By Edward R. on 15 Aug. 2015 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Retrode2 N64 Plugin (without joypad connectors)

Great but build is questionable

The part where you plug in the game is not really sturdy. It bends back and fourth really easy and seems like it could break with little to no effort. However it does work just fine. I bought this to play my N64 collection on my Shield TV in Mupen64. Just make sure you clean the crap out of your games or it won't see the rom file. I had to use brass polish and alcohol. The controller had to be mapped in Mupen64 but it worked great in game but if using the Shield TV keep the Shield controller nearby. Also you will need root and Stickmount or it won't read the games. I was able to back up all my roms and put them on my sd cards for my Shield portable and tablet for on the go use. So far the plugin works great it's just the build quality that scares me.

Report abuse
By Tom Z. on 30 July 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Case Set (Inside)

Good

As always : good stuff for a good machine

Report abuse
By ROD M. on 24 July 2015 :
(3/5) 
Product rated : Case Set (Inside)

Just don't throw out the old ones yet

My set was lacking a Stylus holder, and myself i lost 4 screews from the new set.
My old one saved me, but i am still to older a new set.

In case you cant remember, the buttons go YAXB clockwise from the top.

By Jade L. on 19 July 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Rebirth

Fantastic Gaming UMPC!

Anyone remember the UMPCs of old? (Ultra mobile portable computers)
I do. I've always dreamed of a capable handheld UMPC that was good for gaming,
as well as anything else you threw at it.
I've tried a few other UMPCs, like the Samsung Q1 Ultra, but they all were too
heavy, bulky, and underpowered to be practical for, well, anything.
The OpenPandora, however, is an entirely new breed of UMPCs.
Simply put, it's perfect. Everything from your favourite Free Software GNU/Lin
ux games to emulators, office suites to media players, this thing has it, and
they all work quite well on the Rebirth.
While the Rebirth isn't the best model, it's a good mid-tier to choose-- you c
an even overclock it to 900mhz, if you want it to be more powerful.
It's not the best for a couple of games on the repo and PSP emulation, but tha
t's to be expected as it's the mid-tier.
Perfect.

Report abuse
By Luis N. on 13 July 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode 2

Amazing little device

It may be a little expensive but from the moment you see the box you understand where your money went. It's been a while since I've seen such beautifully laid out circuits and that's just the small bit seen by the cart openings. The device also has a reassuring heft to it that gives me hope that it may last for quite a long time.

As for how it works all I can say is that it works as advertised. It's perfect to keep my classic consoles in decent condition while I can still replay some of my favourite childhood games on the PC without worrying that I'm putting more wear on my ageing Mega Drive. It also helped me replay the single Japanese game I had that stopped working when the adapter it came with broke down years ago (Dragon Ball Z for the Mega Drive and yes it was a legitimate SEGA purchase. The 90s were strange years).

Overall I'm very happy with my purchase and vividly recommend this device to anyone with a Mega Drive or SNES collection. You just can't beat those old controllers for platforming games.

Report abuse
By Alessandro C. on 10 July 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Trooper Premium Controller 2600 (Atari2600-Style)

Sturdy and responsive

Wonderful joystick, it feels very sturdy and gives me the same tactile feeling of those of yore. Works perfectly with Commodore 64.

Report abuse
By Roy G. on 01 July 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Donation for the Pyra Project

What can I say...

It's just a donation, there was no product. But have to say I like that this enables us to use Paypal to donate again.

Report abuse
By J.A. S. on 01 July 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora TV Out Cable

TV Out Cable

This cable made my pandora an even more multitasking machine. Works like a charm for tv but is also very good for audio purposes.

Report abuse
By J.A. S. on 01 July 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Donation for the Pyra Project

Donation for the Pyra Project

I am glad I could donate to this great project.

Report abuse
By Aaron S. on 26 June 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode2 GBx Plugin

EXCELLENT!

The shipment arrived quickly in the US and the plugin works perfectly!

Thank you!

Report abuse
By Aaron S. on 26 June 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode2 N64 Plugin (without joypad connectors)

EXCELLENT!

The shipment arrived quickly in the US and the plugin works perfectly!

Thank you!

Report abuse
By Christopher N. on 16 June 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode 2

Essential Accessory for 16 bit Fans

Use the Retrode to copy the ROM's from your legally purchased Genesis/SNES cartridges onto your PC for emulation play (I recommend Gens for Sega), and then from your PC onto an SD card so you can play your games anywhere (with the unassociated Ultimate Portable Game Player from AtGames), while your cartridges stays safely at home.
· No more lugging your entire library around for your Nomad
· Enjoy a couple of games from a console, but not enough to buy the entire console? Then the Retrode was made for you.
· Comes with USB connector and instructions, provide your own games/controllers.
· Make sure your cartridges are clean and in good condition first (I had a little trouble getting my Retrode to recognize Super Monaco GP, and had to try several times, safely stopping USB device each time).
· Tell your PC to safely remove USB device, unplug when it says to do so, then change your cartridge (hot swapping is bad).
· Be firm, but gentle; don't jam the cartridge/controllers in.
· Have hours of fun; share the experience with a friend.

Report abuse
By Ariel A. on 26 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Replacement Case (Platinum)

Amazing

amazing and cheap spare case for all your pandora needs. The silver case has proven from time to time to be sturdy.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : N64 Replacement Joystick (RepairBox)

Great fix.

N64 stick have a limited life, so I repaired my 4 pads and I can enjoy again my cartridges :).

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pyra Keychain

Good looking.

Well-made and solid.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pyra T-Shirt

Pyra represent !

Had a free one at the 2014 Gamescom. I have since an incredible success with women.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Carry Case

Solid case.

Very protective + lots of space for accessories.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Replacement battery

Infinite ammo.

Add hours to an already incredibly autonomous device.
A must-have for long travels.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora T-Shirt

Underground T-Shirt

Had a free one at the 2012 Gamescom.
When I put it, I feel like a real nerd, and my sexyness dramatically increases.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Pandora TV Out Cable

A Pandora must-have

To play on bigger screen.
S-Video gives a sharp image.

Also nice for line-in recording.

A bit fragile, but it's OK if you're careful.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Classic

Great device.

Runs most emulators flawlessly. A bit short for some N64 games (1GHz version is faster), but MAME, Megadrive/Genesis, SNES etc. are OK.
And also rocks as a full Linux pocket computer.

Report abuse
By Micheline T. on 18 May 2015 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora 1GHz

Great device.

Lots of capabilities. I use it for gaming plus some Linux stuff and I can bring it anywhere , sometimes with the TV-out cable and my pico-projector.
Excellent battery life, robust hardware.
Lots of optimized software in the official repository.

Report abuse