All reviews

By Liam P. on 13 Apr. 2020 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD Win 2 Replacement Battery

Great.

Swift delivery and great communication. The battery itself works well.

Report abuse
By Jon N. on 06 Feb. 2020 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Everdrive GBA X5

Great product

This is a great product. I only really have the Everdrive GB X5 to compare with. In terms of quality/reliability and functionality the Everdrive series doesn't compare to other flashcard solutions.

That being said, Action Replay / Game Genie code support would have been a welcome addition. Then again, this card allows the use of romhacks and homebrew of which there is plenty on GBA.

Minor issue was that the microsdhc loading mechanism appeared unreliable at first. I had read online before purchase about compatibility problems, so I bought one that was compatible. Long story short - that SD card was bad. It works fine with all my microsdhc cards. The physical loading mechanism sometimes requires a pull after the push to eject - maybe 1 out of 20 times. But this is a really minor detail.

Report abuse
By Arthur F S. on 16 Jan. 2020 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : ColUSB - USB Power Supply for the Colecovision

Colect Power Adapter Is Fantastic

I still own 2 ColecoVisions & A Coleco Adam Computer. The Old Block Power Supply that Came With The ColecoVision When It Was Released Might Still Work BUT If it Doesn't This Is Your Coleco Savior. I Ordered Mine And Within 3 Weeks It Was At My Door. I Will Be A Customer Of Dragon Box Shop For A Long Long Time.

Report abuse
By Daniel C. on 14 Dec. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : PocketGo Handheld

Perfect for travel

Easy retrogaming device, perfect for waiting at the airport, very fast and responsive, and comes with a bunch of preinstalled games. Also it's a perfect gift for casual gamers

Report abuse
By J. S. on 13 Dec. 2019 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Retrode2 with all Plugins

Good Product To Backup Old Video Game Console Cartridges

The Retrode2 (with all Plugins) comes in its own printed box with a manual and cables ready to be connected to a computer. I feel like the box is a tiny bit too small; once unpacked it is difficult to fit everything back inside again as the cable keeps untangling itself. The plugins came loose, each in its respective small plastic bag. All the products were packaged in a bigger box with adequate protection.

The main reason I chose to buy this product is to backup Nintendo 64 Game Paks (N64 cartridges), so I'll mainly talk about that. The ports have a very tight fit, especially the one that connects the game cartridge to the N64 plugin. It needs quite some force and the plastic creaks just from my tight grip to not slip off. I'd recommend to disconnect the plugin from the console before swapping game cartridges. It is a tiny oversight that the two identical looking buttons at the right of the slots are not labelled in any way, but at least it is mentioned in the manual.

Software-wise the setup works like a charm. Quick and automated. It connects without any problem, the laptop recognises the device most times - if not, a press on the reset button fixes this -, and I can copy the files and the saves if available. I still need to test out if the files actually work as I still need to acquire an Everdrive64. I never saw both products in stock at once, so at some point I decided to buy any on their own as soon as I found them available again.

Assuming that the files haven't been corrupted during the transfers, it usually works fine. I am glad to have copies of my games and their save files. Especially from games that are glitching out such as my most infamous example, Perfect Dark. It is at a point of not booting up 80% of times, otherwise freezing often a couple of minutes into the game, and the save files not being recognised at times. Cleaning did not help on that one.

All in all I backed up 29 N64 cartridges and I had two issues. For "FIFA 64" I had to force the Retrode to recognise the cartridge as N64 game. For a French version of "Mission: Impossible" the save file can't be copied, the software will throw an error after some minutes and the Retrode disconnects and reconnects with the computer. I don't know if the device just crashes or if it is a deliberate reboot.

Report abuse
By Paolo I. on 14 Oct. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD Win Replacement Battery

Perfect

Installed in less than 5 minutes (the most difficult thing is to unglue the old battery...).
Works perfectly.

Report abuse
By mario R. on 10 Oct. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Metal Storm Collector's Edition (EU Version)

an underrated masterpiece

we, european NES fans, should thank retro-bit, for giving us a licensed reissue of this underrated masterpiece, that was never released in pal regions....the game, quite sought after on ebay and co., is a platform/run'n gun, released in 1991 for the Famicom/NES by Irem of R-Type fame...it's quite standard, gameplay wise, except for the ability to reverse gravity (even in mid-air!)....this way, we can walk on the ceilings and solve mini puzzles....graphics are incredible with detailed sprites and some faux parallax scrolling in place....music and effects are average....a very good game...this game was also on a cover of NINTENDO POWER....and i was searching for the Famicom version, before the retro-bit announcement :P the retro-bit reissue features the jap version translated in english (intro cutscene and dialogues that were absent in the USA release)...this collector is fabolous....with many goodies like an AF of the main character mecha, art prints, posters, pin, the boxed cart with manual... :)
review by fazares (go check my channel on youtube) :D

Report abuse
By Asimakis K. on 08 Oct. 2019 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Picade (Raspberry Pi 4 - 10" Version)

Small arcade box with many potentials...

This box will keep you happy for a long time. You need to understand its positive and probably negatives.
The only downside in my opinion is the high price for the total package and the fact that you need extra hardware (pi or normal pc/android) to get things going..
also the building instructions are not the best despite the guides of the picade.
the screen is very bright and clear.

Report abuse
By Jarno P. on 19 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GameBoy Color LCD-Mod incl. Glass Cover and USB Mod (McWill)

Great product

Easy and fast to install.

Report abuse
By Timothy T. on 03 Sept. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD Win Replacement Battery

Works fine. Got my order just within 5 days.

I was not able to use my GPD WIN because it had an issue with its battery. I placed an order with DragonBox Shop the same day I got an email notification saying that this item is available again in the store. I got my order within 5 days (shipped to the Philippines) ! It’s working fine. Thank you!

Report abuse
By Peter P. on 29 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GameBoy Color LCD-Mod incl. Glass Cover and USB Mod (McWill)

Top

Super Kit, einbau innerhalb von 5 Minuten erledigt wenn man bei normalen Batterien bleibt, für den, der wirklich viel damit spielen möchte ist jedoch der USB mod oder irgendeine Art von rechargearble GBC mod fast ein Muss.
Konnte jetzt keinen Vergleich mit anderen backlit GBC Kits machen da NIEMAND es hinbekommt diese irgendwann mal lagerhaltig zu haben.
Von daher, good Job und vielen Dank an McWill und Dragonbox

Report abuse
By Mirco G. on 07 Aug. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GameBoy Color LCD-Mod incl. Glass Cover and USB Mod (McWill)

awesome LCD

Great product, great seller too!!.

Report abuse
By Robin E. on 28 July 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD Micro PC (Windows 10 Pro)

Perfection

I have had many different UMPCs over the years and the GPD MicroPC is by far the best I have owned. Incredibly compact but still powerful, good battery life and completely usable. Love the RS-232 serial port for connecting to my hardware projects. HDMI is a really nice addition too. Build quality is excellent, does not feel cheap and despite the size, is comfortable to type and navigate on. Have set up dual boot with Windows 10 and the Ubuntu Mate 19.10 distro specific to the MicroPC which works perfectly. I'm using this for a multitude of practical applications but it is perfect for travelling, especially during flights for watching movies, listening to music. Works perfectly with my Bose bluetooth headphones. The only downside for me is the 128GB SSD which is a bit small for my liking, but it was very easy to upgrade to a 512GB M.2 2242 module and a 1TB module is available if needed.

Report abuse
By Steven K. on 13 July 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Everdrive64 X7 (UltraCIC III) Deluxe Set (Grey)

Wish I had this a long time ago!

How wonderful this product is. Not only is the idea behind it amazing, the product itself looks and feels fantastic, as if Nintendo itself had produced it themselves. Gone are the days where I have to worry about my cartridges failing and having to buy a new one, as well as restart the save file! This combined with the Retrode 2, which I will purchase when back in stock, really complements my gaming collection.

Also, I really like the black cartridge. I never really was a fan of the boring grey!

I will update this review (if possible) after I've had a chance to play around with it.

Report abuse
By Peter K. on 08 July 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD XD Plus - Megapack! (Android 7 - Hexacore CPU)

Awesome product

I am really happy with my GPD XD Plus. And thankfully I decided to buy here over the official Aliexpress site.
If I would buy a newer product similar to this one, I would definitely buy it here.

Report abuse
By Kristian H. on 29 June 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Wings! – Kickstarter Reward

Awesome!

Very professonal, just great all around!

Report abuse
By Christopher T. on 03 June 2019 :
(3/5) 
Product rated : ColUSB - USB Power Supply for the Colecovision

My Colecovision has new life!

Not only did the USB power supply ship quickly, but it made a HUGE difference with video quality on my Coleco. I was thinking that the CV power brick was the problem, and now it's been solved. Couldn't be happier! I bought a gold-plated Cable Creation and power supply from Amazon from a suggestion on the AtariAge website in the forums.

Report abuse
By Mirco G. on 28 May 2019 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : GameGear LCD-Mod (McWill)

excellent lcd

Perfect operation, excellent definition and contrast.
In the package lacked of two capacitors and one resistance (10p, 200ohm).

Report abuse
By Mihai A. on 04 May 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : OneMix2s (256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, m3-8100y), Windows 10 Home

OneMix2s (256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, m3-8100y), Windows 10 Home

The product is very well built with the exception of of the stylus pen which has a weak spring. If someone experiences a tight pressure sensitivity and has to press hard on the screen, it's not because of drivers or something else you find searching on forums, it's because of the pen spring. Easy to solve.
I took my time before writing this review - I have it for about 5 days - and everything looks just fine.
If you search for reviews about this product you will find up things that don't apply for this version:
It doesn't get too hot and the screen is brighter enough. Everything looks well built and with quality materials.
Fast shipping and great communication with the seller whom I thank in this way and certainly I will buy again from this site.

Report abuse
By Alex E. on 05 Apr. 2019 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Lynx II LCD-Umbau (McWill) (We modify your unit, without VGA)

Lynx II McWill display replacement

The result is amazing! You did a great job, thanks! Playing with the good old Lynx is finaly fun again. The display is crisp en clear like a modern Phone display. I am very happy !

Report abuse
By Val M. on 01 March 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Wings! – Kickstarter Reward

Finally!

I was beginning to think that it would never come, but it finally arrived. Received everything that was promised and all had a professional appearance. Had previously downloaded some of the games and they were very fun to play.

Report abuse
By Cyril D. on 23 Jan. 2019 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD Carry Case

Good for the price :)

Good for the price :)
My GPD Win 2 fit well in it

Report abuse
By Zorzettig I. on 30 Dec. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : ColUSB - USB Power Supply for the Colecovision

ColUSB - USB Power Supply for the Colecovision

I must say that it is a very exceptional product, the packaging of COLUSB is very well done and a small instruction booklet is very simple to understand.
The USB adapter is built very well and the material is very robust in terms of operation and is really exceptional first quality and removes the annoying problem of the cumbersome transformer.
I recommend it to everyone, it's really a well conceived and realized product.
Thanks DRAGON BOX

Report abuse
By Alejandro L. on 04 Oct. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Retrode 2

Great product

It does exactly what it says. The build quality is really good and works perfectly. Really happy with my purchase and with Dragonbox

Report abuse
By Verriest V. on 03 Sept. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Carry Case

pandora cary case

Arrangement perfectly adapted and great quality, thank you.

Report abuse
By Verriest V. on 03 Sept. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Replacement battery

Batterie Open Pandora

Perfect.

Report abuse
By Verriest V. on 03 Sept. 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora LCD Cable Replacement (flickering color)

LCD cable Open Pandora

Hello, I am very satisfied with the service realized on my console, thank you very much. Serious site.
Deeply my Pyra;-).

Report abuse
By Craig G. on 27 July 2018 :
(3/5) 
Product rated : GPD Pocket Mini Netbook (Linux Ubuntu MATE 18.10) - Mega Set

Great service and fast deliery to UK

GPD Pocket with Linux Mint preinstalled (Gihub/stockmind respin fully updated). Screen orientation sorts itself out after first setup. Very pleased and happy to recommend.

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Replacement battery

Great to have a spare

Can’t beat the price and great to have a back up!

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Donation for the Pyra Project

Can’t wait!

Pyra here we come!

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Replacement Case (Platinum)

ED is too good to me

I sent my unit for multiple repairs and ED replaced the case at no additional charge! I would have definitely mucked it up so I greatly appreciate! My unit looks brand new!

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora TV Out Cable

Works great

Connectors are snug and works great!

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Carry Case

Sturdy and spacious

Very sturdy and reliable. The bracing bands hold the unit in place securely. The top of the case has plenty of room for additional SD cards, USB cable, microfiber cloth, TV out cable and ear buds. Great buy for a great price!

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(3/5) 
Product rated : Pandoa Nub Replacement

I didn’t realize the nubs are so poor

I bought my unit used about a year ago. The nubs were never great. I sent my unit for a number of repairs along with the nubs. They are definitely new as they are clean and unscratched but still feel very stiff and aren’t very responsive or sensitive. Hoping this imporoves with the Pyra.

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Coil Replacement (no backlight on LCD)

Looks great!

Screen world like new after this repair!

Report abuse
By Trevor M. on 18 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Audio Repair (scratching, missing channel)

Works great

The only complaint I have is there is a bit of friction when I turn the wheel. Stopping at a few various positions and requiring more force to turn. Hopefully this smooths out through useage. Otherwise works and sounds great!

Report abuse
By Alex C. on 06 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD XD Plus - Megapack! (Android 7 - Hexacore CPU)

Amazing piece of gaming tech

So i finally got the GPD XD Plus..wow, let me tell you, once you set it up properly with all the right emulators, filters and roms.. its awesome! I have over 5,000 roms for mame4droid (all the street fighters etc.. basically everything you get on the pandora and more), snes, MD, ps1, dreamcast, n64, DOS games, Windows Adventure games, gameboy..you name it, all the way up to game cube. The quality of the device is excellent as well, excellent build quality, the buttons snd everything is solid and well built, no creaking or plastic noises here. The only thing i wish it has was backlight on the buttons to play at night and rumble :) It does take quite a bit of research and tweaking to get it all working 100% but once you do its pure magic and portable with an amazing battery. And if you want you can connect via hdmi to tv as well. Best purchase ive done in years.

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 02 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD Win Screen Protector

Only screen protector fitting well to GPD Win's screen

Since GPD Win has a bit unusual screen size, I would not recommend to use any other cheap substites fitting to some other handhelds. They're usually too small and trust me, screen covered only partially is making very bad impression on your eyes.

Naturally, putting it without any dust "inside" is a bit hard thing, so be sure that you're capable of doing such thing (or finding someone who is able to do it, usually with some air pressure device), otherwhise you'll end with badly sticked screen protector with some dust inside. In other words - better try first with some cheap screen protectors for popular handheld (or smartphone).

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 02 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : GPD Carry Case

Fantastic case, even if a bit pricey

Despite the fact, that those cases were initially made for GPD XD, they're perfectly suitable also for GPD Win. In both cases, handheld is fitting well, additional stripes inside are nice addition, as well as small pouch, where I could put cloth to clean screen, screen protector and headphones.

Material seems to be fine, zipper is working without any issues. I admit that I'm usually buying cheaper cases, but this one is really well made, so it's worth to at least consider buying such, if you're owner of GPD XD and/or GPD Win.

I would not recommend it to use as substite for other handhelds though - it's simply too big and all handhelds I've checked (Nintendo DS, 3DS, AtGames MD handheld, Revo K101) are too loose, not to mention that it's not adjusted for handhelds not in "clamshell" shape. It's not a lack though, as it was intended to use with GPD Win and GPD XD, and for this purpose it's perfect choice.

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 02 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : Dreamcast VGA Cable

Highly recommended for all Dreamcast's users

Basing on my experience, I can tell that hooking your console from 90' to "standard" monitor is usually requiring some additional stuff (at least video converter, those things are not cheap). Fortunately, with this cable you can do such thing with your Dreamcast - just remember about some adapter for Audio cables, since audio signal is sent separately through them.

Of course not all games can cooperate with VGA cable (important thing for users of such applications as Utopia - you can't use this cable with them, with exception of Code Breaker), but since majority of Dreamcast games can do it - it's definitelly worth to play in them with this cable.

I'm giving 5 stars, because mentioned limits of using this cable are not caused by cable itself, but rather due to "unofficial" homebrew software and limitations of some games. And other than that - I totally recommend it, no matter if you wish to play on TV or monitor.

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 02 June 2018 :
(5/5) 
Product rated : MegaDrive 1 RGB Scart Cable

Vastly improved picture comparing to composite AV cable

It's not a big surprise that picture received with using this cable is much, much better than in (usually) included cables to Mega Drive. Better colors, more consisntent picture... I personally didn't heard too much improvement regarding sound, but it's fine, since the main reason of buying such cables is picture's quality.

Please, keep in mind that such cable (usually) won't help you if your TV is not detecting video signal from your Mega Drive (in such cases you need video converter - separate device).

In my opinion, such cable is one of the cheapest (but at the same time - efficient) ways to improve quality of picture from your MD console. Therefore I would recommend to check such cables before you will start to try with various converters etc.

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 02 June 2018 :
(3/5) 
Product rated : Retrode2 GBx Plugin

Nice plugin, has some lacks though

First of all - it works, easy and nicely, as "base" Retrode (you just need to plug it into MD slot - you need to do it properly, otherwhise you can have issues with reading cartridges properly). It's very simple to use - just put cartridge, plug into PC and use/copy ROM file. Since whole Retrode is detected by system as data storage medium, it doesn't require any additional software.

Sadly, there are some problems. With such games as Sonic Advance series or Sonic Battle I've never managed to obtain working ROM, every time dumped ROM wasn't working in any emulator. Other lack is the fact that plugin is unable to deal with "multi-games" cartridges - of course I've tested only officialy released "multi-carts", but none of these allowed me to obtain working ROM(s). I also don't like the fact that slot is not covered in any way, there should be at least some small plastic cover.

I like the fact that this plugin was created, because it seems to be very convenient method of dumping roms. But the fact that it's not working with some single games and with all compilation cartridges, is noticeable lack.

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 02 June 2018 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Pandora Carry Case

Quite good case, suitable not only for Pandora

Quality of case itself is generally fine, material seems to be solid, shape is nicely done... Only thing is not so great is the zipper, by some reasons it's going a bit reluctantly.

However, the good thing is, that aside from obvious purpose, you can use it also for other handhelds. It's fitting well for DS/3DS consoles, as well as for GameBoy Advance and Neo Geo Pocket/Color. Last two seems to be especially nice, because you've got quite a lot of free space in upper part (for accessories), perfect to store there game cartridges. Of course not all handhelds will fit there, especially those wider (K101 Revo, AtGames MD handheld, PSP, GPD XD/GPD Win won't fit).

For this price, it's really great case. Even if you're not user of Pandora, but wish to have some decent case for your handheld, I would recommend to consider buying this one (just check size before buying).

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 02 June 2018 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Wind and Water Puzzle Battles (Dreamcast)

Worth attention game for Dreamcast's fans (even those who are not too fond on homebrew games)

I've got to admit, that I'm not one of those people who are excited about any homebrew game on DC in physical form. Fortunately, Wind and Water Puzzle Battles is some noble exception, with presented quality and game's content.

First of all - quality of graphics and sound - finally something on decent level, comparable with good 2D "retro" indie games on PC. Even animation (usually rather poor element of many homebrew games) is made really well. Only thing which I didn't like about aesthetics is using "super deformed" (big head, small body) style for presenting various in-game characters (ugh). I like the fact that we've got there rather common, but still entertaining type of game (so one of those "match 3" games with some additional mechanics), as well as decent amount of additional game modes (including multiplayer). It's a shame though, that producer didn't decide to include additional CD with PC version of the game (which was made e.g. in case of Hermes game).

Naturally, all "physical" elements, like instruction manual, CD with game and CD case are well made and will present really nice on your shelf. Just one warning though - if you're collecting DC games from US or EU region, you will notice that "box style" of this game is not referring to any of these formats (as presented on pictures on game's page). For me it's not a big deal, but I know that some people are paying attention to this aspect.

Really nice and positively surprising title, probably one of better made homebrew games for DC as well.

Report abuse
By Marcin K. on 09 May 2018 :
(4/5) 
Product rated : Revo K101 Plus Black (GBA Clone)

Great replacement for normal GBA/GBA SP, but has some lacks

Revo K101 plus is one of those few clone devices, which are doing really well what they should, but also have some extra features.

Revo is doing really well in term of playing GBA games on original carts, as well as in emulation mode, with attached K-Card. Although with some single exceptions - for example Advance Wars 2 was working in my case really great on normal cart, but dumped rom loaded on K-Card had some graphical issues in emulation mode. But to be honest - it was single case, rest of the games seemed to work fine (in emulation mode), while in "physical mode" - all of them were working correctly. I appreciate the fact, that cartridge with AW2, which is not working anymore on my DS Lite, was launched on this device without any issues.

Really cool feature of this device is the fact, that it's supporting multiplayer by link cable. You can link it to original GBA as well as to other Revo unit. Great feature! It's really unique amongst other (known to me) GBA clones.

Sound and display are really nice, no issues at all. There is possibility to change between aspect ratio, so "purists" can play in original resolution, I prefer to use the "full screen" mode, because stretching wasn't very bothering for me, and in return I can fully use screen of device, which is a bit bigger than in original GBA. I don't quite understand, why in some cases my Revo had issues with save game (in game!) in emulated mode (from K-Card) - for example for long time I had problem with Advance Wars and AW2, which simply hanged entire game when I've tried to save. Other time I had problem with save game in Sonic Advance 1 - game simply wasn't saved despite my in-game progress. By some weird reason problem with saving in AW series... disappeared after some time.

Sadly, the D-pad is rather mediocre - all other buttons are fine, but D-pad sometimes has tendency to push more than one direction (despite our intention).

To be honest, I'm a bit surprised with all those additional, "non-gba" features. While I could understand presence of MP3 player, the fact that we've got here other emulators, which are working in most cases very poorly.

Size of device is a bit problematic, it's a bit too long to be kept inside very popular "NDS-style" cases, but rather too small to be kept inside bigger "hard" cases.

To conclude - I personally think that you've got nothing to lose if you never had opportunity to play on original GBA - Revo is very good alternative, surpassing original in many aspects. Yeah, it's a bit pricey, but it's good device. And if you're owner of original GBA but it seems to be in rather bad shape - Revo is definitelly good choice for you.

Report abuse